County History

Jefferson County History

   Jefferson County, formed in 1792 from Hawkins and Greene Counties, is located in East Tennessee, one of the state’s three “grand divisions.”  Jefferson is bordered by “sister” counties Knox and Grainger, and it’s “children”, Cocke, Sevier, and Hamblen Counties.  For more information and history on Jefferson County, please visit

Other links you might find useful…