Planning Commission

The Jefferson City Planning Commission is an advisory, consulting, and coordinating board that oversees the development and adoption of general and comprehensive plans for the physical development of Jefferson City. The Planning Commission also serves as the city’s Board of Zoning Appeals. The goals, objectives, and plans for the community developed by the Planning Commission are used to guide future decisions made by the governmental body.

The Jefferson City Planning Commission meets on the 4th Monday of each month at 5:30 PM in City Hall.

Planning Commissioners

Members of the Planning Commission are elected to serve 5-year terms.

Robert Burts, Jr., Chairman | Term expires January 2023

Bill Newman | Term expires January 2022

Spencer Gatlin | Term expires January 2022

Jeff Chitwood | Term expires January 2021

Jeff Houston, Head of Building Department

Mitch Cain, Mayor

Kevin Bunch, Vice Mayor